• Announcements

    • shedder101

      WE Have Moved To www.renaultkadjarforum.com   06/11/2018

      i invite all members to take a look at this our new home    https://renaultkadjarforum.com/   we are moving to a better side of the street    See you all There.   if your having trouble registering look for the activation email in your spam folder   Shedder101

Track information from DAB radio
6 6

103 posts in this topic

No reply from customer services manager as yet re my complaint, although I did miss 2 calls on my mobile whilst playing golf this morning.  Number withheld.  Maybe it was them trying to contact me.  Strangely, they never bothered ringing my home number.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

A little update from renault customer services:

Thank you for your email to Renault UK.

I am disappointed to hear that you are not happy with the performance of the R-link 2 within your Renault KADJAR. Renault UK have worked extremely hard to produce a media unit that we consider to be, not only easy to use, but extremely functional. I am sorry that this does not appear to be experience you are having. I have sought further advice from our technical team who have advised me that although the latest update for the media unit has been postponed they are expecting the release of an update this month. I hope that this will help to alleviate some of the issues you are experiencing. A full list of the bugs that this will repair will be released shortly.

In regards to your queries regarding CarPlay, the advice that we have at the moment is that this will not be incorporated into the most recent update being realised this month. At the moment, CarPlay function is not compatible with vehicle models built prior to 2017. The technical team are currently investigating and working on the software to see if this is a feature that can be incorporated in an update so that customers can use this feature regardless of the age of their vehicle but there is not a current release date for this currently.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I'm a little bemused by the answer had about Android Auto  . They say " The technical team are currently investigating and working on the software to see if this is a feature that can be incorporated in an update so that customers can use this feature regardless of the age of  their vehicle "  . Yet other owners have been told that it's a hardware issue and no software updates will fix it . Do they know what they're doing ? .Or are they just fobbing you off with  bullshit ? 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
46 minutes ago, 1964 said:

Where is this elusive technical R-link team based anyway?
Presumably we are just complaining to a satellite call centre that has no clue as to what's going on or any influence over fixes?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

second star to the right, and straight on till morning  ;)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I have a Megane Mk4 and customer services have told me a new update is due shortly for rlink2.. they also said they don't know what it fixes until development release it.

It will be an update we can do ourselves and not having to go to a dealer..

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Received reply back from Customer Services Manager.  Strange how each reply differs.  I feel like a mushroom.  Kept in the dark and fed bulls##t.

I understand you have got an issue with the digital radio on your KADJAR not displaying song names and text. You have spoken to our Connected Services Department and they have advised you there was a solution but the dealership, Arnold Clark, Warrington confirmed this was not the case. You would like Renault to resolve this issue.       

 

 

I am sorry to hear you are experiencing issues with the digital radio on your KADJAR. We are very proud of our vehicles and always expect the digital radio to have all the features of similar systems. I can appreciate your frustration you were advised there was a solution available but, when you booked into the dealership, you were advised the solution was not yet available. This is not an experience I would wish for any of our customers. 

 

 

In this case, I can confirm that Renault are aware of the issue with the digital radio not displaying text on the KADJAR. Our Technical Department in Renault France have been working on a solution and this solution will be rolled out to our dealer network shortly. The dealership will then be able to complete the software update on your KADJAR.

 

 

I will stay in touch with you until this solution is released to our dealer network and is updated in your KADJAR to ensure the solution has resolved this issue to your satisfaction.

 

 

I hope this email reassures you Renault take all complaints seriously.

 

 

s time, I will contact you again with the latest on the software update for your digital radio’If you wish to discuss these issue further, you can email me on this address, or call me on our number below. Our dedicated Customer Relations department is open from 9.00am to 5.30pm, Monday to Friday (excluding Bank Holidays). If I have not heard from you in a week

.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Had call from customer services manger.  Informed that Renault France had sorted the problem out re track info.  Update needs to be signed off and then wheeled out to main dealers "within 2 weeks"

I won't hold my breath!!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Had call from customer services manger.  Informed that Renault France had sorted the problem out re track info.  Update needs to be signed off and then wheeled out to main dealers "within 2 weeks"
I won't hold my breath!!

That's 2 weeks ago, in fact two weeks last December!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
17 hours ago, darenh said:


That's 2 weeks ago, in fact two weeks last December!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

As I said, I won't hold my breath.  Don't believe a word they say.  Unfortunately, Trading Standards don't want to know as it is not a safety aspect and does not affect the running of the vehicle.  I await his promised phone call next week.  He and I might just have "hard words"!!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

...here's an update I received from Senior Customer Manager today for DAB radio, Maps & Android Auto.

We can live in hope I suppose 🤔

 

A 2017 Map update will imminently be available and will supersede the 2015 maps currently in the KADJAR and the plan is to offer 6 monthly updates. The DAB text information is working now in France and a software update is being prepared for the UK although we are uncertain whether a customer can update via the RLINK store or whether it will need to be applied by the dealer- Please keep an eye on the RLINK store for both Map and software update.

 

Android Auto is not an update but will be part of an evolution of RLINK 2 which will only be available on future factory orders and will not be back- compatible

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Another phone call this week assuring me that it is has been sorted in France and is waiting to be signed off for UK models.  Assured that dealers will be in touch to recall for update "very soon". Don't hold your breath!!!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

All depends who you talk to... I was told on Friday "in about 2 months" .As my subscription has just expired they conceded that as the last update prevented further map updates occurring as a gesture of goodwill they have agreed to give me a cheque for £75 to cover the cost of the map update service when it is "eventually" working again.
I can guarantee you that dealers will not advise you of a software update for the R-link as it does not qualify as a recall and they are under no obligation to do so.
That is also contrary to information given to me that the software update will be available for download via the R-link tool box and will not need a trip to the dealers.
Anyone's guess what is true or an alternative fact with them.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


I'm about to expire so will be complaining once I don't get a second map update. I suspect the rlink upgrade is months away

Sent from my SM-G955F using Tapatalk

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
19 hours ago, 1964 said:


All depends who you talk to... I was told on Friday "in about 2 months" .As my subscription has just expired they conceded that as the last update prevented further map updates occurring as a gesture of goodwill they have agreed to give me a cheque for £75 to cover the cost of the map update service when it is "eventually" working again.
I can guarantee you that dealers will not advise you of a software update for the R-link as it does not qualify as a recall and they are under no obligation to do so.
That is also contrary to information given to me that the software update will be available for download via the R-link tool box and will not need a trip to the dealers.
Anyone's guess what is true or an alternative fact with them.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

My Kadjar is now 12 months old and keeps flashing up that my subscription is about to expire.  Not prepared to pay an annual fee.  Not going to update maps anyway until the new bridge over the Mersey and all its link roads are finished.  Due in October.  If it is an absolute bind to update, I shall put in my old Tom Tom, which is easily updated. I've tried signing up to the R link but it asks for the serial number.  Got no idea where to find it as I'm not from a technical age.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
2 hours ago, David Lee said:

My Kadjar is now 12 months old and keeps flashing up that my subscription is about to expire.  Not prepared to pay an annual fee.  Not going to update maps anyway until the new bridge over the Mersey and all its link roads are finished.  Due in October.  If it is an absolute bind to update, I shall put in my old Tom Tom, which is easily updated. I've tried signing up to the R link but it asks for the serial number.  Got no idea where to find it as I'm not from a technical age.

Your serial number is in System settings/System Information and is confusingly called HUID information .Even more confusing is you have to ignore the first three letters of your HUID number when inputting your serial number on the R Link Store e.g . If your HUID Number is CAP 123456789 you only input 123456789 as your serial number . How Renault expect you to know that without being told is laughable .

What's the point in having an inbuilt Navigation if you have to resort to plugging in an external one ? Not being critical of you , others have resorted to that at least one at Renault's suggestion :blink:

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
1 hour ago, ulfire said:

Your serial number is in System settings/System Information and is confusingly called HUID information .Even more confusing is you have to ignore the first three letters of your HUID number when inputting your serial number on the R Link Store e.g . If your HUID Number is CAP 123456789 you only input 123456789 as your serial number . How Renault expect you to know that without being told is laughable .

What's the point in having an inbuilt Navigation if you have to resort to plugging in an external one ? Not being critical of you , others have resorted to that at least one at Renault's suggestion :blink:

Many thanks for that information.  No offence taken re the plug in sat nav.  I've tried doing updates etc on other things before and made a right bugger of them, so I shall have to try harder!!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
13 hours ago, J C said:

HI       Is it not counting down to next service ie 18000 mile first full service so will be reset at this service ?????;):wacko:

 

J.C B)

Had its 1st Service last Month at 1 year old with 8.5K miles recorded. It told me it was due, so I presume everything was reset after to "flash up" after the next 12 months

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I took my Kadjar into Renault for a Firmware update, but was told I had the latest version.

Renault Connected Services replied to me saying :

I am sorry to inform that the update has been delayed by the developers.
The god news is you won't need to book your car in for service again, since the update is being made available for download on the R-Link Store directly. Meaning you can do it on your own computer at home.

Unfortunately we do not have an estimated date for released yet, but if you would like I shall keep you informed and notify you once it comes out.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The god news is you won't need to book your car in for service again, since the update is being made available for download on the R-Link Store directly. Meaning you can do it on your own computer at home.

I was told that by support in January 2016 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Had several phone calls from Renault customer services, all telling me the same thing, that the solution to the problem of no track information being displayed on DAB has been sorted in France and is expected to be "passed off" in UK very soon.  Apparently it is a "large file" which may involve a trip to the main dealer.  I have recently seen many brand new Kadjars particularly in the 2 weeks just spent in Ireland (very common over there) and wonder if they all have the same problem.  I am not holding my breath.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
6 hours ago, darenh said:

Interesting question, anyone with a new2017, with apple play android can try there dab info and lets us know please?

Track Info as in song playing being displayed? Just tried a random station and can see the track info 

IMG_20170621_173539_708.jpg

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Track Info as in song playing being displayed? Just tried a random station and can see the track info 
IMG_20170621_173539_708.thumb.jpg.e809086981e492df7f76313fbf0c60cb.jpg

How about leaving it on that station then see if it works tomorrow, without changing anything?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
10 hours ago, darenh said:


How about leaving it on that station then see if it works tomorrow, without changing anything?

Works ok on same one when I went back to it and when I change to other stations it's fine.  See pics

20170622_090606.jpg

20170622_090633.jpg

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

6 6